Two Ways to Measure Revenue Per User

3 min read

Two Ways to Measure Revenue Per UserWhen it comes to measuring revenue, it’s essential that businesses analyze it from a variety of perspectives. While there’s revenue and net income on an income statement to show a company’s quarterly financials, another way to measure it is through ARPU (average revenue per user) and ARPPU (average revenue per paying user).

Defining ARPU

ARPU is the average revenue per customer or per unit. It looks at how much revenue is earned over a particular timeframe (multiple times a month, quarter, half-year, or 12 months) divided by the average patron during the same timeframe. This can be applied to many different types of companies, including social media and software as a service (SaaS). It’s calculated as follows:

ARPU = Total revenue/Average units or subscribers

ARPU = $10,000,000/100,000 = $100

Interpreting ARPU

This is a snapshot of a company’s profitability. It’s a way for companies to track revenue generation over a short or long period. With this information, a company or investor can analyze the business’s past and present performance. It can help determine whether or not the business needs to re-evaluate its operations and product models or if an investor should invest in a company.

When it comes to evaluating an investment, if one company in a specific industry is generating an ARPU of $5 and another company is generating an ARPU of $3, the first company could be a more attractive investment. Similarly, if the trend of a company’s ARPU is increasing, it’s worth looking at how the company’s stock has performed. Additional investment research can determine how the company’s stock price is appreciated.

Average Revenue Per Paying User (ARPPU)

ARPPU is used to determine the average revenue from a company’s paying customers only. To contrast this measurement type, ARPU factors in all users.

Assume the following: A business had revenue of $2 million, an average user base of 1 million, and an ARPU of $2.

If, however, we’re looking at the ARPPU, we need to take out the non-paying user base. If the non-paying user base is determined to be 425,000, the remaining paying base is 575,000. Use the following formula to calculate ARPPU:

ARPPU = Period of Recurring Revenue/Active Paying Users during the same measurement period

ARPPU = $2 million/575,000 = $3.48 per active paying user

Interpreting ARPPU

When the ARPPU is low, this indicates the business’ products or services aren’t well received by customers and those to whom it is marketing. A higher ARPPU indicates a company’s marketing efforts, products, and services are received well by customers. Similar to ARPU, results from ARPPU can be analyzed for trends to see when products or services are well received; and then investigated to determine whether it is influenced by the sales and marketing, customer service, product quality, etc.

Whichever way a business analyzes its sales and revenue generation processes, taking multiple approaches can provide different perspectives to help owners and employees determine when and where to make improvements to its operations.

Super Apps and Their Impact on Traditional Business Models

5 min read

What is a Super AppsAs technology advances, users crave convenient and feature-rich solutions. In mobile app development, the concept of super apps is taking the tech world by storm. These apps include a wide range of services within a single platform, such as messaging, payments, ride-hailing, food delivery, and more. Super apps have disrupted traditional business models by providing a more convenient, personalized, and cost-effective user experience.

Defining Super Apps

Super apps are powerful, multifunctional platforms that offer numerous services, from transportation and finance to e-commerce and social networking, all within a single application. This is unlike standalone apps, where each focuses on a specific function, like the video-sharing service YouTube. The super apps allow users to access different services without downloading them to their devices and without switching between numerous applications.

Super apps, a term popularized by WeChat in China, represent a new breed of applications that provide a centralized hub for users to access various services. They usually start as one service before evolving to include several mini-services. For example, WeChat began as a messaging and social media app. WeChat now has more features, including mobile payments, ride-hailing, entertainment, and an e-commerce platform, among other features.

One of the primary factors contributing to the rise of super apps is the shift in consumer behavior. Users increasingly favor a one-stop-shop experience, where they can perform different tasks without switching between multiple apps. This convenience has made super apps highly popular, becoming an essential part of the digital ecosystem in many countries.

The adoption of super apps in the West has been slower and more fragmented compared to Asia. While user preferences are shifting toward integrated digital experiences, regulatory and market dynamics have challenged the widespread adoption of super apps. However, elements of the super app model are gradually being incorporated into existing Western apps as companies explore ways to provide users with a broader range of services within their ecosystems. A good example is the acquisition of Twitter, rebranded to X by Elon Musk, intending to turn it into an everything app.

According to research on the global super apps market, the value of the market in 2022 was $58.6 billion. The market size value is expected to reach $722.4 billion by 2032. This signals the enduring presence of super apps, requiring businesses to adapt in order to maintain their competitive edge.

The Impact on Traditional Business Models

Super apps have challenged established business models in many industries, including finance, retail, and transportation, among others. In retail, super apps often include marketplaces that offer users a wide range of products and services. This has disrupted traditional brick-and-mortar retailers and standalone e-commerce platforms. As users spend more time within super apps, they are less likely to use separate e-commerce apps, leading to a shift in the retail landscape.

In finance, super apps frequently integrate financial services, such as mobile payments, digital wallets, and personal financial management. This has upset traditional banking models by offering a more accessible and user-friendly way to manage money. The convenience and speed of financial transactions within super apps are compelling, drawing users away from traditional banking.

In transportation, super apps have revolutionized the industry with ride-sharing and mobility services. Traditional taxi companies and car rental agencies are facing stiff competition from these apps, which offer efficient, cost-effective, and user-friendly alternatives for getting around.

Super apps have also transformed the food and delivery industry by offering a seamless way to order meals, groceries, and other goods. This has challenged traditional restaurants and grocery stores to adapt to the changing market dynamics.

How Businesses Benefit from Super Apps

  1. Super apps provide a platform for businesses to reach a vast and diverse user base, leading to increased brand awareness and customer acquisition. They also allow businesses to upsell and cross-sell existing products or services to their customers, increasing sales.
  2. By offering a wide range of services, super apps create new revenue streams for businesses and increase customer loyalty as users can access all their favorite services in one app.
  3. By bringing together multiple service providers inside their ecosystem, super apps promote cooperation and innovative ways to solve client problems.
  4. Businesses may invest in joint ventures and collaborations with other businesses using the super app, resulting in the development of distinctive products and value-added services.
  5. Super apps simplify processes for businesses by bringing together multiple service providers. This lets businesses give undivided attention to their core competencies and leave other services to the super app.
  6. Super apps allow businesses to build stronger brand loyalty by providing a more convenient, personalized, and cost-effective user experience.
  7. Super apps can help businesses reduce costs by eradicating the need to develop and maintain multiple standalone mobile apps. Besides, building a single super app is less expensive than managing multiple apps, and it allows developers to focus on a single product and eradicate unnecessary costs involved in the app development process.

Conclusion

Super apps are here to stay, and their impact on traditional business models is undeniable. They offer users unparalleled convenience, forcing traditional businesses to rethink their strategies. To thrive in this evolving landscape, businesses need to embrace digital transformation, innovate, and consider how they can leverage the reach and capabilities of super apps to their advantage.

Securing Your Identity: The Role of Decentralized Identity Systems in Data Breach Prevention

4 min read

How to Securing Your IdentityData breaches have been on the rise as cybercriminals keep coming up with new ways to steal user-sensitive information. Just in the second quarter of 2023, 110.8 million user accounts were breached. Of these accounts, 49.8 million were from the United States, accounting for 45 percent of the global figure. However, amid the rising threats, a revolutionary concept known as decentralized identity systems has created a solution to reduce data breach cases.

Data Breaches and the Current State of Identity Management

A data breach happens when unauthorized individuals or entities gain access to sensitive information, often for malicious purposes. These breaches can happen to anyone, from individuals to large corporations, and they come with severe consequences that could include financial losses, reputation damage, and identity theft.

The current identity systems are centralized and have inherent vulnerabilities and limitations. These centralized identity systems involve a central authority, such as a government agency or a corporation, storing and managing individuals’ personal information. This means that if a hacker breaches the central authority’s security, he or she gains access to a vast amount of sensitive data.

Furthermore, since the centralized systems often collect extensive personal information, the practice raises concerns about data privacy. The entities storing user data predominantly control and monetize it, which has led to discomfort and distrust among users.

The centralized systems also create a fragmented user experience. This is because different platforms, such as social media, online retailers, news websites, etc., require users to create accounts. Users then must juggle multiple usernames, passwords, and data formats, complicating the digital experience. Businesses also incur high costs associated with ensuring secure systems, the latest infrastructure, and compliance.

How Decentralized Identity Systems Can Help Prevent Data Breaches

Decentralized identity systems are an alternative to centralized identity management. These systems put individuals in control of their own digital identities. The decentralized identity systems are enabled by technologies such as Web3, a concept based on a trust framework for identity management. Web3 evolution has led to decentralized identifiers, and this allows for secure management of user data and authentication through blockchain wallets.

Using blockchain technology ensures the security and immutability of identity data. Once information is added to the blockchain, it cannot be altered or deleted without the user’s consent.

However, they allow users to have control over their identity information. Users choose what data to share and with whom, enhancing privacy and security. There is no need for third parties to verify user identity.

Since users store data on their devices or a location they choose, it eliminates single points of failure. Instead of a centralized authority, identity data is distributed across a decentralized network of nodes. Additionally, these systems use advanced cryptographic keys, allowing only the user to access their data.

Decentralized identity systems are already making an impact in various industries, such as healthcare, financial services, and government services. The security benefits of decentralized identity include:

  • Enhanced Security

Decentralized identity systems offer robust security measures. With data stored on a blockchain, it becomes exceedingly difficult for hackers to breach the system. Even if one node is compromised, the decentralized nature of the network ensures that other nodes maintain the integrity of the data.

  • Privacy Control

Users regain control over their personal information. They decide what data to share and retain the ability to revoke access at any time. This puts an end to excessive data collection by corporations and governments.

  • Reduced Identity Theft and Fraud

Decentralized identity systems make it incredibly challenging for fraudsters to impersonate individuals or access their data. This significantly reduces the risk of identity theft and related fraudulent activities.

  • New Economic Models
    Decentralized identity models can create new economic models where consumers are awarded when they choose to share their data with service providers.

While decentralized identity systems offer promising solutions, they are not without challenges. The widespread adoption of decentralized identity systems presents scalability challenges. Another challenge is usability, as complexity can deter individuals and businesses from embracing this technology. The need for a regulatory framework is another challenge, as it is necessary to address factors related to legal and compliance.

Conclusion

Decentralized identity systems offer hope in an age where data breaches are a constant threat. These systems can revolutionize how users secure their digital identities by putting control back into individuals’ hands. While challenges exist, the benefits of enhanced security, privacy control, and reduced fraud make decentralized identity systems a promising solution in the ongoing battle against data breaches.

Common Financial Reporting Mistakes and How to Correct Them

3 min read

Common Financial Reporting MistakesWith accounting fraud and financial reporting mistakes creating a lack of confidence, understanding how financial reporting mistakes occur and are detected is an important topic. According to the Association for Federal Enterprise Risk Management and the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, the first nine months of 2018 saw 8.8 percent more accounting fraud enforcement action cases versus 2017.

Controls are procedures implemented to lower the chance of financial reporting issues. While these mechanisms are meant to prevent an overload of problems, they are not always foolproof. Corporations also are required to show that sufficient financial oversight is in place for financial records and assets by the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002. There are two types of controls: preventive and detective.

As the name implies, preventive controls are devised to avert mistakes before they happen. Methods include ongoing training, worker evaluations, and mandating different layers of authorization for transactions.

Detective methods look at the granular accounting steps. Having internal and external audits performed and comparing real-world activity against what’s been budgeted or forecasted are two ways to implement this approach. However, performing account reconciliation where the business’ financial data is compared against third-party documentation can provide near real-time insight into what is actually occurring. This includes analyzing checks and cash the business has collected and documented on their books but that may not be reflected on bank statements. Another factor in the reconciliation process is checks the company has sent out that have not been processed by the business’ vendors, etc.

Since detective controls alert companies to errors after the fact, it is important that they are conducted in a timely manner – daily, monthly, quarterly, or annually. If there’s a discrepancy between the company’s ending cash balance and the bank’s monthly statement, there might be differing balances. This can be due to the financial institution’s service fees and checks taken into account by the business that aren’t yet reflected on the financial institution’s statement.  However, other cases of discrepancies could point to signs of fraud. 

According to the University of California Los Angeles, there are many ways to split tasks. Doing this is integral to successful mitigation of errors and unauthorized behavior because it deters the likelihood of multiple workers collaborating. Specifically, when it comes to authorizations, reconciliations, and responsibility for the assets, it is a high priority for businesses to break tasks up among multiple workers.

Examples include dividing the duties between opening the mail/preparing a list of checks to review and the individual who deposits the checks. The individual who oversees accounts receivables should be separate from the person who creates a list of checks received. It’s not advisable for a sole employee to initiate, approve, and record a transaction. Similarly, reconciling balances, handling assets, and reviewing reports should not be done by a single employee. A minimum of two individuals should be available to handle any transaction.

While the most diligent accounting professional has made a mistake from time to time, learning how to identify financial reporting mistakes can reduce the likelihood of even rare mistakes being unknowingly shared with others.

Sources

https://www.aferm.org/erm_feed/wrong-numbers-the-risks-of-inaccurate-financial-statements/

IRS Plans to Use AI and Ramp Up Enforcement on Millionaires, Partnerships and Crypto

4 min read

IRS Plans to Use AIRecently, IRS Commissioner Danny Werfel spoke of changes within the IRS, announcing several initiatives focusing on high-income earners and partnerships, as well as integrating the use of AI within the agency’s work. According to the commissioner, the initiatives were made possible by additional IRS funding provided by the Inflation Reduction Act. Without the funding from this bill, the agency would not have the budget to implement these ramp-ups in enforcement.

Millionaires with Tax Debt

The new initiative on millionaires is not just because they are high-earning taxpayers; it will focus on those with open tax debt. Currently, the IRS has identified approximately 1,600 millionaires who are in debt to the IRS for $250,000 or more. The agency plans to designate agents to focus on these high-impact collection cases. A prior campaign resulted in a collection of more than $38 million in tax debt.

High-Income Earners with Foreign Bank Accounts

Another new initiative focusing on high-earning taxpayers includes ramped-up inspection for those who have foreign bank accounts and use them to evade taxes.

By law, every U.S. resident who has a financial interest in or control over a foreign financial account must disclose this information if he or she had $10,000 or more at any point in the year by filing an FBAR.

The IRS conducted an analysis and identified potentially hundreds of taxpayers who should be filing an FBAR and are not, with average balances of more than $1 million. The most egregious cases are planned to be audited in fiscal year 2024.

Partnerships and Corporations

Starting in 2021, the IRS began the initial stages of a new compliance program focusing on complex partnership tax returns. Now, the IRS is set to expand this initiative over more partnerships.

In total, the IRS has plans to open examinations on the 75 biggest U.S. partnerships. “Biggest” means these businesses have, on average, more than $10 billion in assets, so it’s safe to say small and medium size businesses won’t be affected.

Additionally, the IRS will be looking into smaller (but albeit still large) partnerships with more than $10 million in total assets that have balance sheet mismatches. The focus is on partnerships with balance sheet discrepancies where the prior year’s ending balance sheet is not equal to the next year’s opening balance sheet without any explanation. The IRS uses this as a red flag because they have found through full inspections that balance sheet issues are often the proverbial canary in the coal mine for other areas of non-compliance.

Once again, the focus will be on larger partnerships with balance sheet mismatches. The agency plans to send notices to approximately 500 partnerships. Depending on the initial follow-up, an audit may result.

Digital Assets, Including Crypto

The IRS plans to continue its virtual currency compliance campaign, educating taxpayers on the rules, regulations, and reporting obligations surrounding cryptocurrencies. The rules around the taxation of digital assets have evolved in recent years, and more and more taxpayers are invested in these types of assets.

The IRS subpoenaed transaction information from centralized exchanges and found that potentially an estimated 75 percent of taxpayers involved in crypto are non-compliant, some as a form of tax evasion and others simply from ignorance. In any case, the IRS plans to ramp up digital asset enforcement this coming year.

Artificial Intelligence

Lastly, the IRS is looking to utilize artificial intelligence to help agents do their job more effectively. The IRS is particularly interested in how AI can help flag tax returns for audit in important areas.

The agency plans to invest in the latest analytic solutions that can detect patterns, trends, and activities that are typically linked to tax evasion, thereby freeing up employees to focus on other matters.

Conclusion

Overall, the IRS’s focus is on high-income, tax-debt-burdened individuals, the largest partnerships, and sizable crypto players. This means that these enforcement campaigns shouldn’t have much of an impact on the average taxpayer. However, the growing use of AI will impact everyone from top to bottom.

Sanctioning Terrorist Activities by Iran, Accelerating Disaster Assistance and Expanding Healthcare Opportunities for Native Americans

3 min read

HR 589, HR 3152, S 1528, S 70, S 460, S 1271MAHSA Act (HR 589) – The Mahsa Amini Human Rights and Security Accountability (MAHSA) Act is a bipartisan bill that was introduced on Jan. 27 by Rep. Jim Banks (R-IN). The purpose of this bill is to impose sanctions on the leaders of Iran for supporting human rights abuses and terrorism. The sanctions block both property and visas owned by certain foreign individuals and entities affiliated with Iran. The bill passed in the House on Sept. 12 and currently resides in the Senate.

Fight CRIME Act (HR 3152) – This bipartisan bill was introduced by Rep. Michael McCaul (R-TX) on May 9. It imposes visa- and property-blocking sanctions specific to Iran’s missile-related activities, including acquiring, developing, transporting, or deploying missiles or related items, such as drone technologies. These sanctions also may be imposed on adult family members of people directly involved, as well as foreign individuals and entities that engage in transactions and knowingly provide support for the Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR). This legislation was passed in the House on Sept.12 and is under consideration in the Senate.

Disaster Assistance Simplification Act (S 1528) – This bipartisan bill aims to facilitate streamlined information sharing among federal disaster assistance agencies, accelerate life-saving assistance to disaster survivors, and expedite the ability for communities to recover from disasters, as well as other purposes. The legislation was introduced by Sen. Gary Peters (D-MI) on May 10 and was passed in the Senate on July 27. It is presently under review in the House.

Tribal Trust Land Homeownership Act of 2023 (S 70) – Introduced by Sen. John Thune (R-SD) on Jan. 25, this bill mandates that the Bureau of Indian Affairs expedite processing and completion of residential and business mortgage applications within certain deadlines (e.g., provide approval or disapproval within 20 or 30 days, depending on the type of application). The bipartisan bill passed in the Senate on July 18 and is currently under consideration in the House.

Urban Indian Health Confer Act (S 460) – This Act, introduced by Sen. Tina Smith (D-MN) on Feb. 15, passed in the Senate on July 18 and is currently in the House. Its purpose is to expand the requirements of the Indian Health Service (IHS) on matters relating to both American Indians and Alaskan Natives. At present, the IHS is required to confer only with urban Indian organizations. However, this new bill would mandate that the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) ensure that the IHS and other agencies consult on matters related to the Indian Health Care Improvement Act, as well as other healthcare provisions for Native Americans. The Act passed in the Senate on July 26 and has been forwarded to the House.

FEND Off Fentanyl Act (S 1271) – The objective of this bill is to impose sanctions on individuals, cartels and transnational criminal organizations involved in trafficking illicit fentanyl and related products. The legislation was introduced by Sen. Tim Scott (R-SC) on April 25 and was assigned to the committee for review on June 21. This bipartisan bill is co-sponsored by 32 Republicans, 32 Democrats and two Independents. It has a high probability of being passed by both houses and enacted by the president.

How to Organize Your Tax Documents

3 min read

How to Organize Your Tax DocumentsSince tax time isn’t until next April, organizing your documents right about now might not be top of mind or even something you want to do. However, if you don’t want to have to scramble come springtime, you might want to organize your paperwork all year long. Here’s why: It expedites the process when you really do have to begin your tax prep, and it’s actually pretty easy. Start with simple categories (listed below), grab some folders, and put them in a filing cabinet – or any safe place. This way, when tax time comes around, you’ll be ready.

Income

This is pretty obvious, but it’s not just limited to your paycheck, W-2 forms, or 1099s. You’ll also want to keep jury duty records, income and expenses from a hobby (or side hustle), prizes and awards (monetary), health care reimbursements, as well as alimony you received. If you earned money doing something, keep the receipts and put them in this folder.

Vehicles/Cars

First, make a copy of the state taxes for your vehicles. Even if you don’t own your own business, make sure you keep track of miles driven, parking, and tolls. (Of course, if you have a company, you’re already doing this.) Next, keep all your receipts for gas, car washes, maintenance, etc., so you can claim these.

Kids

Be sure to keep receipts for childcare. Why? You can get a credit that will cover up to 35 percent of childcare expenses, up to $3,000 for a child under 13, or $6,000 for two or more qualifying children. Furthermore, your employer may offer a plan that excludes up to $5,000 from your taxable wages for qualified childcare expenses. In addition to these costs, make sure you keep a record of child and caregiver tax ID numbers and/or Social Security numbers. You’ll need them.

Doctor/Dentist

Keep these receipts for all out-of-pocket procedures. You know there will be some. In fact, if your total annual medical expenses are greater than 7.5 percent of your AGI (adjusted gross income), you can claim the deduction. Hang on to those precious receipts.

Investments

This is an important category. First, make sure you have all the necessary documents for your 401k, IRA, etc. But that’s not all. Do you have a college fund? Any other investments? If you have any doubt about something, don’t throw it away. Keep it.

Real Estate

Whether you own one home or many, make sure you keep your 1098, which is your mortgage interest statement. Your closing statement, property taxes, and home improvement receipts are also important papers to safeguard.

Charities

Did you give to a friend’s kid’s band fund? Give any clothes away to Goodwill? Donate to your alma mater? Wherever you’ve made contributions, document it. It’ll come in handy.

Other

This is the category for the things that don’t fit neatly into any of the above categories. If you have questions about any of your receipts, check out this guide.

Admittedly, keeping track of important tax documents and receipts isn’t the easiest thing to do – or the most fun. But if you designate categories, slow down and take time to stash important papers away, you’ll be way ahead next spring.

Sources

https://apersonalorganizer.com/tax-documents-checklist/

https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/family/sweet-child-of-mine-tax-credits-for-parents/L1DqxZ9mh

https://www.forbes.com/advisor/health-insurance/is-health-insurance-tax-deductible/#:~:text=You%20can%20usually%20deduct%20the,you%20can%20claim%20the%20deduction.

How to Identify and Avoid Cash Flow Pitfalls

4 min read

Cash Flow Pitfalls, Cash Flow problemsLooking at expenses for one’s business is essential to reduce cash flow issues. For example, it would show if there’s too much money leaving the business or what type of scenario the business might face if there’s an unexpected and large expense that guts the business’ cash position. Tracking expenses on a monthly basis is one way to determine a company’s financial health.  

Estimating sales by starting with last year’s month-by-month figures is one way to start. Looking at credit and cash sales from a business’ monthly income statements provides historical reference. Examining both fixed and variable past expenses, specifically, is a good starting point. However, it’s important when projecting future sales and reasonable increases to remember that the business could be impacted negatively by a new competitor or positively if one goes out of business.

Determining when payment will be received is a good way to project cash flow. If it’s cash, then it’s instant and no further calculation is necessary. However, if payment is conducted by invoices, credit lines, etc., businesses are encouraged to perform the Days Sales Outstanding (DSO) calculation. This calculates, on average, how long customers take to pay outstanding invoices.

DSO = (Monthly accounts receivables/Total sales) x Days in the month

This is a good way to measure how long customers actually take to pay invoices versus what terms are specified in contracts or invoices.

Another consideration is to look at fixed and variable expenses. While fixed expenses are just that, fixed, it’s important to monitor variable expenses because they can fluctuate. One example is inflation, which can increase the cost of input materials, salaries, overhead, etc. Depending on the volume of production or sales, electricity, commission, or similar costs can also vary.

Once this information is gathered, the current month’s projected cash flow can be calculated.

The formula is as follows: (Last month’s cash balance + Current month’s projected receipts) – Projected expenses.

Preventing Bad Debt from Happening Before Collections is Necessary

According to SCORE, there are many things a business can do to reduce the likelihood of customer debt default and increase cash flow. Businesses can check the creditworthiness of both individual and commercial clients before offering credit to determine the likelihood of defaulting. 

Similarly, if Net 30 is the standard timeframe to pay an invoice, offering a 5 percent discount if it’s paid within seven days is one way to encourage prompt payment. Businesses that get a deposit when signing the contract or before beginning work will generate a more consistent cash flow.

Operating Cash Flow Ratio Example

This looks at how easily a company can satisfy current liabilities from its cash flows that are produced from the business operations. If there’s negative cash from operations, a business might be relying too heavily on financing or selling assets to run its operations. If earnings are steady, but cash flow from operations is falling, this is a negative indication of a company’s health. It’s calculated as follows:

(Operating Cash Flow/Current Liabilities) = ($15 billion/$45 billion) = 0.33

Businesses with an operating cash flow ratio greater than 1 have produced more cash in an operating period than is necessary to satisfy current liabilities. Businesses that have a reading less than 1 did not produce enough cash to satisfy current liabilities. However, further investigation is required to ensure that it’s not taking some of its excess cash to reinvest in projects with the potential to create future rewards.

While there’s no way to predict future cash flow trends, making projections can help businesses compare actual results to projects and adjust their plans more efficiently.

Sources

https://www.score.org/resource/article/10-ways-improve-collections-and-cash-flow

How Businesses Can Leverage Data and Personalization for Targeted Campaigns and Growth

4 min read

Data and Personalization, Targeted CampaignsMarketing efforts today depend on collecting, analyzing, and leveraging data to make informed decisions. Therefore, business owners need to understand how to harness the power of data and personalization to create targeted campaigns that drive growth.

Importance of Data and Personalization in Modern Business

Businesses today collect loads of data, enabling them to understand their customers’ preferences, behaviors and interests. The data comes from different channels, such as a business website, emails, or social media. It is then used to identify patterns and trends to make informed marketing decisions. This yields valuable insights that help craft highly personalized and effective marketing strategies.

Data is the foundation of personalization strategies. Personalization involves tailoring customer experiences to meet individual interests, needs, and preferences. It aims to build strong customer relationships, encourage engagement, and drive revenue and growth.

Personalization takes different approaches, such as recommendations based on previous purchases, creating unique landing pages, or sending emails based on customer browsing behavior. For example, e-commerce websites recommend products based on user browsing history and search queries.

Business owners can’t afford to ignore personalization since customers today are more informed, can easily access information, have more options, and have more control over purchase decisions. Furthermore, customers are more demanding and want to be recognized as individuals, expecting to receive personalized experiences. This has rendered traditional, one-size-fits-all marketing strategies obsolete.

How Businesses Can Use Data and Personalization for Targeted Campaigns and Growth

Using a data-driven approach, a business can create campaigns that deliver the right message to the right audience at the right time by doing the following:

1. Audience segmentation

Capturing the attention of a specific audience segment leads to higher conversion rates. To do this, a business can leverage data insights to segment the target audience. This means it is possible to categorize potential customers based on demographics, interests, or browsing behavior.

2. Crafting personalized content

Once segmentation is complete, it becomes possible to create tailored campaigns that resonate with each segment’s unique preferences. Aside from addressing customers by their names, it involves delivering content that speaks directly to their needs, interests, and pain points. This could include product recommendations based on past purchases or sending targeted offers that align with customer browsing history.

3. Omnichannel personalization

Customers interact with businesses using various channels, such as a business website, social media, emails, and mobile apps. A business can integrate data and personalization efforts to ensure a seamless journey for customers, regardless of where they engage. Additionally, it is crucial to deliver consistent and personalized experiences across these channels.

4. Continuous improvement in data-driven campaigns

Data insights also help guide businesses on the most suitable content and distribution strategies. They can analyze types of content performing well and in which channels. For example, a business can conduct A/B testing to compare campaign and content variations to identify the most effective approach for each segment.  

5. Measuring and analyzing results

To establish the effectiveness of personalized campaigns, a business will need to develop clear key performance indicators (KPIs) and measurement methods. One way to measure the impact of personalization is through customer engagement. This is done by measures such as click-through rates on personalized emails, customer retention rates, customer lifetime value, customer feedback, and number of sales.

It is worth noting that to make the most out of data insights. It is helpful to invest in advanced analytics tools or collaborate with data experts.

6. Adapting to changing trends

The digital landscape is evolving constantly, with new technologies and trends emerging regularly. Businesses must stay updated on these changes and adapt their personalization strategies accordingly. Remaining flexible and open to innovation ensures that the company’s targeting efforts are relevant and effective.

Data Privacy and Security

Although personalization in modern business is crucial, it must be balanced with privacy concerns. First, a business must be transparent about the data it collects and how it will be used. In addition, businesses need to be careful with the data they collect. They must ensure data security by safeguarding data storage and using safe transmission methods, have access control limits, and regularly audit data privacy policies and practices. Customers should be allowed to opt out of data collection and personalization efforts easily.

Customer data must be well protected to ensure compliance with relevant regulations. It also helps build trust with customers. Besides, a breach of trust can severely affect a business’s reputation and growth.

2021 Vs 2022 Vs 2023 Federal Income Tax Brackets

3 min read

2020 Vs 2021 Vs 2022 Federal Income Tax Brackets

The US tax system is progressive, meaning that the more you earn the more you pay. For the years 2021-2023 there are seven different brackets for each year (2020 was the same structure as well). Which bracket you are in depends on your taxable income; however, your bracket does not equal your tax rate.

Tax brackets work so that you pay part of your income at each level bracket as you move-up in income. In other words, someone in the 32% marginal rate bracket will pay 10% on part of their income, 12% on another part, then 22% on another band of income, 24% on the next tranche and finally, 32% on everything else. In other words, moving into a higher tax bracket does NOT mean you pay higher taxes on all your income.

Below are comparative tables for the taxable years 2021 – 2023. This way you can not only see the tax brackets that apply 2023 taxable income, but the trend changes over time.

Updates to 2023 Tax Rates and Brackets

Over the 3-year period shown below, there are seven brackets with progressive rates ranging from 10% up to 37% and they are the same overall years.

Federal income tax rate brackets are indexed for inflation. The brackets are adjusted using the chained Consumer Price Index (CPI). There were no structural changes to the tax brackets in any of the periods, so the only impact are increases year-over-year due to the inflation indexing.

The inflation adjustment factor for 2023 was 7% for example, raising income thresholds applied to the tax brackets across the board.

Tax Rates and Brackets

Below are the 2021-2023 tables for personal income tax rates. Note, that the 2023 figures below are the amounts applicable to the income earned during 2023 and paid in 2024 when you file your taxes.

 

Tax Brackets & Rates

Single Taxpayers
2021 2022 2023
10% 0 – $9,950 10% 0 – $10,275 10% 0 – $11,000
12% $9,951 – $40,525 12% $10,276 – $41,775 12% $11,001 – $44,725
22% $40,526 – $86,375 22% $41,776 – $89,075 22% $44,726 – $95,375
24% $86,376 – $164,925 24% $89,076 – $170,050 24% $95,376 – $182,100
32% $164,926 – $209,425 32% $170,051 – $215,950 32% $182,101 – $231,250
35% $209,426 – $523,600 35% $215,951 – $539,900 35% $231,251 – $578,125
37% $523,601and Over 37% $539,901 and Over 37% $578,126 and Over

 

Married Filing Jointly and Surviving Spouses
2021 2022 2023
10% 0 – $19,900 10% 0 – $20,550 10% 0 – $22,000
12% $19,901 – $81,050 12% $20,551 – $83,550 12% $22,001 – $89,450
22% $81,051 – $172,750 22% $83,551 – $178,150 22% $89,451 – $190,750
24% $172,751 – $329,850 24% $178,151 – $340,100 24% $190,751 – $364,200
32% $329,851 – $418,850 32% $340,101 – $431,900 32% $364,201 – $462,500
35% $418,851 – $628,300 35% $431,901 – $647,850 35% $462,501 – $693,750
37% $628,301and Over 37% $647,851 and Over 37% $693,751 and Over

 

Married Filing Separately
2021 2022 2023
10% 0 – $9,950 10% 0 – $10,275 10% 0 – $11,000
12% $9,951 – $40,525 12% $10,276 – $41,775 12% $11,001 – $44,725
22% $40,526 – $86,375 22% $41,776 – $89,075 22% $44,726 – $95,375
24% $86,376 – $164,925 24% $89,076 – $170,050 24% $95,376 – $182,100
32% $164,926 – $209,425 32% $170,051 – $215,950 32% $182,101 – $231,250
35% $209,426 – $314,150 35% $215,951 – $323,925 35% $231,251 – $346,875
37% $314,151and Over 37% $323,926 and Over 37% $346,876 and Over

 

Heads of Housholds
2021 2022 2023
10% 0 – $14,200 10% 0 – $14,650 10% 0 – $15,700
12% $14,201 – $54,200 12% $14,651 – $55,900 12% $15,701 – $59,850
22% $54,201 – $86,350 22% $55,901 – $89,050 22% $59,851 – $95,350
24% $86,351 – $164,900 24% $89,051 – $170,050 24% $95,351 – $182,100
32% $164,901 – $209,400 32% $170,051 – $215,950 32% $182,101 – $231,250
35% $209,401 – $523,600 35% $215,951 – $539,900 35% $231,251 – $578,100
37% $523,601and Over 37% $539,901 and Over 37% $578,101 and Over

 

 

Conclusion

While the tax brackets are the same in 2023 as the prior year, the income thresholds increased 7% following hot inflation in the CPI. You can lower your marginal rate or at least reduce the amount of taxable income subject to it by optimizing itemized deductions.